The Clerk is the first (and official) point of contact for the Council.
Email the Clerk or a Councillor at any time. The Parish Office is open on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays (10-12 noon) and at other times by appointment.
Parish Clerk & RFO
Councillors as Representatives
Getting things done
Other Useful Contacts

Lisa Thomas


07814 139518                        

Register of Interests

Michael Butler

07491 142839

Register of Interests

Howard Millett
07846 557588

Register of Interests

Vicky Ryce

Nicky Bowler


07968 864508

Register of Interests

Chris Davis


07764 576560

​Alex Pepper

Parish Clerk & RFO
Katie Walding

Parish Clerk & Financial Officer
​Katie Walding

01590 718116 (in an emergency 07899 804083)

Parish Office, Jubilee Field Pavilion, Station Rd, Sway SO41 6BE

Katie Walding has been the Clerk to Sway Parish Council since October 2017. She holds the Certificate in Local Council Administration (CiLCA) and is a Principal of the Society of Local Council Clerks. 

Outside of work, Katie is the Hon Secretary to the New Forest Commoners Defence Association, and is a practising commoner. 

The Clerk is the Proper Officer of the Council and as such is under a statutory duty to carry out all the functions, and in particular to serve or issue all the notifications required by law of a local Authority's Proper Officer; she is also the Responsible Financial Officer and responsible for all financial records of the Council and the careful administration of its finances.

The Clerk is responsible for ensuring that the instructions of the Council in connection with its function as a Local Authority are carried out. She advises the Council on, and assists in the formation of, overall policies to be followed in respect of the Authority's activities and produces the information required for making effective decisions and implementing those decisions. She is accountable to the Council for the effective management of its resources and reports to them as and when required.
Councillors as Representatives

Planning & Transport Committee: Chris Davis, Simon Barnes (Reserves: Nicky Bowler, Emma Monk)

Finance Working Group: Cllrs Alex Pepper (Chair), Vicky Ryce, Lisa Thomas

Amenities Working Group: Cllrs Lisa Thomas (Chair), Nicky Bowler, Vicky Ryce, Peter Dance

HR Working Group: Cllrs Nicky Bowler (Chair), Chris Davis, Vicky Ryce

Communications Working Group: Cllrs Chris David (Chair), Alex Pepper, Vicky Ryce

Church Lane Working Group: Cllrs James Willis, Chris Davis, (plus Cllr Barry Rickman, NFDC, Mrs Melanie Seacombe, Mrs Dawn Bampton)

Transport Representative: Mr John Warden

Tree Representative: Cllr Howard Millett

Rights of Way: Cllr Stephen Tarling

Allotment Association: Cllr Nicky Bowler

Jubilee Field User Group: Cllrs Lisa Thomas, Vicky Ryce

Sway Village Hall Committee: Cllr Nicky Bowler

Sway Youth Centre: Cllrs Chris Davis, Emma Monk

Sway Welfare Aid Group: Cllr Nicky Bowler

(NFALC) New Forest Association of Local Councils: Cllr Peter Dance

(HALC) Hampshire Association of Local Councils: Cllr Lisa Thomas (Reserve: Peter Dance)

NFNPA SW Quadrant: Cllr Chris Davis (Reserve: Emma Monk)

Cango Governance: Cllrs Peter Dance

New Forest Consultative Panel: Cllr Vicky Ryce

Local Cycling and Walking Infrastructure Plan (LCWIP): Cllr Chris Davis

Getting things done

 Forest Animals

  • In the event of a road traffic accident involving an animal: phone 999 (non-emergency 101) 
  • Sick, injured or distressed pony, cow, donkey, pig or sheep (Mon-Fri 9am-5pm)(other than one involved in a RTA), phone the Verderers on 02380 282052 
  • Sick, injured or distressed pony, cow, donkey, pig or sheep (24hrs): phone the Forestry Commission on 0300 067 4600 or

New Forest National Park Authority

If you want to see any planning applications in person you can visit the NFNPA offices at Lymington Town Hall; or for recent Sway applications please arrange to view with the Clerk.

Hampshire County Council

  New Forest District Council or phone 023 8028 5000


  • Phone 0845 6000 650 (option 4); or 01590 682338 Mon-Fri 06:35-10:00 for Sway Station ticket office
Other Useful Contacts

 POLICE  Sway is in the 'New Forest West' area.

  • Phone 999 in an emergency
  • Phone 101 for non urgent enquiries and reports
  • To report a crime online, please click:, click 'Report' and select the type of crime to report. (You can also use 'Tell us about' for a selection of other alternatives)

The nearest police station is Lymington Police Station at Southampton Road, SO41 9GH with the following opening hours:

  • Mon to Sat 9am to 6pm
  • Sun 9:30am to 6pm
  • Closed 2pm to 3pm each day
  • Closed Bank Holidays

For a map showing local crime information, please browse to: